|  
You are here : Parks & Rec  >  Senior Citizens
Useful Links



... Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don't mind, it doesn't matter. ~Mark Twain


Senior Programs

Senior Coordinator

29340 South Gibraltar Road 
Gibraltar, MI 48173
(734) 671-1466 voice
(734) 676-3309 fax

Programs
The Gibraltar Over 50 Club: The Gibraltar Over 50 Club meets on the second and last Friday of every month at the Community Center at 7:00 p.m. Residents 50 years or older are welcome to join. Come join the fun, social activities, and trip planning.
For more information please call (734) 692-3119 or (734) 671-1466.

Senior Lunch Program: The Senior Lunch Program is held at the Gibraltar Community Center Monday through Friday. Lunch is at noon for Seniors 60 years and older. Come and enjoy the food, fun, and fellowship. For lunch reservations or information, please call between the hours of 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. at (734) 671-0335. 

Senior Transportation: The City has a Bus that is wheel chair accessible and is available by appointment to transport our senior residents to doctor appointments and for a weekly shopping trip. This service is available to residents age 60 and older or disabled, in which the resident does not have a vehicle or is unable to drive due to medical reasons. The service for appointments is available on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday -- 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM (the Driver must be back to City Hall by 3:00 PM) and for grocery shopping on Wednesday. Reservations must be made at least 48 hours in advance, and there is a limit of 2 appointments per person, per week. To schedule an appointment, please call (734) 676-3900/. 

Meals on Wheels: Meals on Wheels is available for homebound persons 60 years or older. If you would like to have home delivery of a lunch meal from the Gibraltar Senior Nutrition Site, please call (734) 671-0335 between the hours of 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. to see if you qualify. 

Step Into Shape: Step into Shape is a low impact exercise class for the 50 plus crowd. Classes are on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday's from 9:00 to 10:30 a.m. (they do take a break during the summer months).

Seniors & Dental Car: As you age into your senior years, proper oral care becomes more important than ever. Practicing proper oral health and taking proper care of any dental devices, such as dentures or implants, and looking into dental insurance suited to you is crucial. Visit https://www.emergencydentistsusa.com/seniors-dental-care/ for more information.

A Guide to Downsizing for Seniors and Their Loved Ones: https://www.redfin.com/blog/seniors-guide-to-downsizing

Should you Own or Rent a Home in Retirement?  https://www.fool.com/mortgages/2017/05/04/should-you-own-or-rent-a-home-in-retirement.aspx

How to Save for a Down Payment on a House:  https://www.thebalance.com/how-to-save-for-a-down-payment-on-a-house-1289847

Saving for a Home Post-Bankruptcy:  A Three-Step Guide for Families:  https://www.mortgagecalculators.com/resources/saving-for-a-home-after-bankruptcy.php

7 Home Improvement  Remodeling Ideas That Increase Home Value (And What to Avoid):  https://www.moneycrashers.com/7-home-improvements-to-increase-its-value/

How to Deter Burglars:  Keeping Potential Robbers Away From Your Home:  https://www.asecurelife.com/how-to-deter-burglars/

Overdose Response Guide: Awareness, Prevention, And Preparedness For Caregivers Of Addicts.  http://www.drugrehab.org/overdose-response-guide

The Ultimate Guide To Senior Nutrition:  https://www.mwhomecare.com/senior-nutrition-and-eating

The Benefits Of Cooking With Alzheimer’s: A Caregiver’s Guide.  http://www.culinaryschools.org/blog/cooking-with-alzheimers

Health: What To Expect In Your 70s And Beyond.  http://www.aarp.org/health/healthy-living/info-2017/over-70-healthy-living-tips.html

A Guide To Downsizing For Seniors And Their Loved Ones: https://www.redfin.com/blog/seniors-guide-to-downsizing

Is My Elderly Parent Incompetent? What To Do If You’re Worried:  http://betterhealthwhileaging.net/qa-possible-elderly-incompetence-what-you-can-do 

Senior-Friendly Remodeling:  http://www.homeadvisor.com/r/senior-friendly-remodeling

12 Ways To Help Seniors Avoid Social Isolation:  http://samvednacare.com/blog/2016/04/27/12-ways-to-help-seniors-avoid-social-isolation

Caretakers’ Guide To Moving Seniors Into A Facility:  https://www.closetbox.com/resources/caretakers-guide-to-moving-seniors

Senior Wellness Guide:  www.drugwatch.com/health/seniors/<http://www.drugwatch.com/health/seniors/

Doses and Interaction Resource:  www.drugwatch.com/drug-interactions/

The Quiet Epidemic of Senior Drug Abuse: https://www.aplaceformom.com/blog/1-22-2014-quiet-epidemic-senior-drug-abuse/

Substance Abuse and Caregiving:  When to Ask for Help for Your Own Health and Well-Being:  http://www.drugrehab.org/caregiver-substance-abuse/

8 Ways For Seniors To Stay Active This Holiday Season:  http://homecarebyseniorsnj.com/8-ways-seniors-stay-active-holiday-season/

The Ultimate Guide to Senior Finance: Fiscal Fitness for The Over Fifty Crowd:  http://assistedlivingtoday.com/p/resources/ultimate-guide-to-senior-finance/

A Guide to Downsizing for Seniors and Their Loved Ones:  https://www.redfin.com/blog/seniors-guide-to-downsizing

10 Early Symptoms of Dementia:  https://www.healthline.com/health/dementia/early-warning-signs

Moving an Aging or Disabled Parent Into Your Home: 4 Things You Should Know:  https://www.homeadvisor.com/r/moving-in-aging-or-disabled-parent/

Moving Beyond Grief After Losing a Spouse:  http://www.nextavenue.org/moving-beyond-grief-after-losing-spouse/

5 Fall Prevention Ideas for Bathroom Showers: https://www.angieslist.com/articles/5-fall-prevention-ideas-bathroom-showers.htm

Addiction Resources for the Elderly:  http://www.rehabcenter.net/elderly-drug-alcohol-rehab-programs/

The Most Common In-Home Injuries for Seniors and How to Prevent Them:  https://www.homeadvisor.com/r/senior-home-injuries-and-prevention/

Preventing Falls at Home:  https://www.n4a.org/files/PreventingFalls.pdf

10 Smart Home Features to Help You Age in Place:  https://www.cbsnews.com/media/10-smart-home-features-to-help-you-age-in-place/

Preparing Your Home for a Loved One with Alzheimer’s: A Caregiver’s Guide:  https://www.redfin.com/blog/2016/09/preparing-your-home-for-a-loved-one-with-alzheimers-a-caregivers-guide.html

Home Fire Safety Checklist for Older Adults:  http://files.esfi.org/file/Home-Fire-Safety-Checklist-for-Older-Adults-00B1.pdf

Ten Safe Gardening Tips for Seniors: 
 http://www.sandiegouniontribune.com/lifestyle/home-and-garden/sdut-ten-safe-gardening-tips-for-seniors-2012may31-story.html

SeniorGuidance.org - Helping Seniors During Most Difficult Times:  https://www.seniorguidance.org/assisted-living/michigan/